Conference: The League of Nations

The conference will assess the legacy of the League of Nations and the role of its successor, the United Nations, as a driving force for the development of international law.

Date and time: Thursday, 31 January 2019 (9 am - 5 pm)

Venue: Council Suite Room 1-2, Fielding Johnson Building


  • Dr Omer Aloni (Tel-Aviv University and LMU Munich)
  • Punsara Amarasinghe (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna Pisa)
  • Felix Behnke and Maurus Wollensak (University of Hamburg)
  • Dr Philip Burton (University of Manchester)
  • Dr Richard Collins (University College Dublin)
  • Prof. Jean d’Aspremont (University of Manchester)
  • Dr Rossana Deplano (University of Leicester)
  • Sean Morris (University of Helsinki)
  • Prof. William Schabas (Middlesex University)
  • Dr Rose Sydney Parfitt (University of Kent)
  • Prof. Nicholas Tsagourias (University of Sheffield)
  • Prof. Nigel White (University of Nottingham)
  • Dr Ewa Zelazna (University of Leicester)

For more information about the conference, please check the programme.

Attendance is free of charge, but please book your place at

Contact CELI

Leicester Law School
Fielding Johnson Building
University of Leicester

T: +44 (0)116 252 2363