The Steering Committee

Universities set their own syllabi for their courses, so Physics at Leicester isn't exactly the same course as Physics courses elsewhere. They are similar though because people broadly agree on what Physics is. Because at Leicester we're innovating the course, we have a steering committee of academics from outside the university to oversee our work.

Our Steering Committee

Mick BrownProf. Mick Brown
FRS, University of Cambridge

Prof. Brown is the Emeritus Professor of Physics in the University of Cambridge and Fellow of Robinson College, Cambridge. Elected FRS 1982. He was the head of Microstructural Physics research group to 2002/3. He has had a lifelong interest in education and recently served on the Institute of Physics inquiry into undergraduate physics.


Shiela BruccianiMs. Sheila Brucciani
PAL International

PAL International is the world's leading brand and manufacturer of hygiene workwear. The company has won several "export awards" and continues to support its worldwide brand with proactive international sales operations - including a representative office in Singapore.


Mrs. Deirdre Cawthorne
DeLisle Science College

De Lisle Catholic Science College is a co-educational comprehensive school in Loughborough, Leicestershire, England. At the time of its 2000 Ofsted inspection it had 1,223 pupils including 160 in the sixth form. It was designated as a science specialist school in 2003.


Martin JonesProfessor Martin Kenneth Jones
University of Cambridge

Prof Jones is recognised as one of the world's leading experts in the Biomolecular archaeology of early crops, ecological theory and archaeological method, later prehistoric and early historic agriculture in Europe. He has recently published a popular science book The Molecule Hunt

Visit Prof. Jones' homepage.


Ranald Mc DonaldMr. Ranald Macdonald
Academic Head, Learning and Teaching Institute, Sheffield Hallam

Ranald Macdonald's current responsibilities primarily involve management and support for the University's (Sheffield Hallam) Learning, Teaching and Assessment (LTA) Strategy. This initiative is a part of the HEFCE's Teaching Quality Enhancement Fund (TQEF).

Visit Mr. Ranald Macdonald's homepage.


Tina OvertonProfessor Tina Overton
University of Hull

Prof. Tina Overton is lectures in chemical education and inorganic chemistry. Her research interests include Developing Higher Order Cognitive Skills, Problem based learning, Teaching Chemistry in Context, and the Use of Case Studies to Teach Chemistry.

Visit Prof. Overton's homepage.


Steve SwithenbyProfessor Stephen Swithenby
The Open University

Professor Swithenby's research is in biomagnetism, the implementation of computer based methods in physics research and teaching, and the teaching of physics at all levels as part of an integrated science. He has served as Dean of Science at the Open University and is current director of the Centre for Open Learning in Mathematics, Science, Computing and Technology.


Maarten TasDr. Maarten Tas
Lutterworth Grammar School and Community College

Lutterworth Grammar School and Community College is renowned for excellence both locally and nationally with some 2000 students between the ages of 14 to 19. It achieve ssome of the best results in Leicestershire. As a "Specialist Technology College", it uses ICT to enhance learning and so has excellent ICT facilities.

Share this page:

Contact Us

You can email us:

Or send post to:

The Centre for Interdisciplinary Science,
University of Leicester,
University Road,

Or you could use phone or fax:

UK Tel: +44 (0)116 252 3506

Fax: +44 (0)116 252 2070

We're on Twitter and Facebook

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo V1