Excellence in Computer Science Teaching

The overall standards and quality of our teaching are externally monitored and assessed. This ensures that we are assessed impartially, and judged in relation to all of the other leading Universities in Great Britain. We have been visited by both the main assessing bodies: the UK Government's Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) and the British Computer Society (BCS) , which is the industry body for IT professionals.

We have received:



QAA checks how UK universities and colleges maintain the standard of their higher education provision. Click here to read this institution's latest review report. The QAA diamond logo and 'QAA' are registered trademarks of the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education.

The QAA have undertaken a Developmental Engagement (see Note 1). The inspection team indicated in its verbal report to the University that:

  • they had total confidence in the academic standards and quality of learning opportunities
  • student support is good and comprehensive
  • students' views are taken fully into account by staff
  • final-year projects are impressive, as is the comprehensive guidance and support given
  • quality management is impeccable and there is a comprehensive policy for the enhancement of standards
  • there is strong academic leadership, and
  • the Computer Science programme takes full account of the requirements of the BCS, and the Government's QAA Computing Benchmark.

The team also commended the friendly relationship between staff and students, and the high level of attainment. The QAA team described their report as a Paean of Praise and described their visit to Leicester as positive, and a pleasure. These findings were upheld in their final report to the University.


BCS logo



Our BSc programmes are completely accredited by the BCS. The levels of accreditation, which are the highest which can be awarded to the various programmes (see Note 2), are:

  • CITP, CEng, CSci: Computer Science, Computer Science (Europe), Computer Science (Industry).
  • CITP, CEng: Computing, Computing (Europe), Computing (Industry).
  • CITP: Computing with Management, Computing with Management (Europe), Computing with Management (Industry).

In their last report, the BCS commended the Department and students for producing good project work, and for the level of support given to students. It noted that the Department is driven by research, and that new research feeds into the degree programmes.


  1. The QAA has two main ways of assessing degree programmes. One is called Subject Review, and resulted in a grade out of 24. Roughly speaking, the Subject Review is an older assessment method, and the QAA does not give grades out of 24 any more.
    The Developmental Engagement (see also Developmental Engagement is a newer assessment, and is often used instead of Subject Review when the QAA already considers that the University is known to deliver high quality teaching, and Leicester has historically done very well indeed in QAA inspections. Partly on this basis, the QAA chose the Developmental Engagement route for Computer Science.
  2. The awards of CEng and CCsi are formally "partial" but are in fact the highest level that can be awarded to graduates of three year honours programmes.

Share this page:

Contact Us

Admissions Enquiries:
BSc: +44 (0) 116 252 5280
MSc: +44 (0) 116 252 2265
E: BSc  seadmissions@le.ac.uk
E: MSc  pgadmissions@le.ac.uk

Departmental Enquiries:
T: +44 (0) 116 252 2129/3887
F: +44 (0) 116 252 3604
E: csadmin@mcs.le.ac.uk

Dept of Informatics
University of Leicester
Leicester, LE1 7RH
United Kingdom


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Informatics Building.