Infection, Immunity and Inflammation at Leicester

Welcome to the department


hometestThe department is part of the College of Medicine, Biological Sciences and Psychology and is located on the main University campus, Robert Kilpatrick Clinical Sciences Building and within the University Hospitals of Leicester.

We are a research-led department engaged in internationally competitive research. With strong links with the NHS, the department brings together basic and clinical scientists with established strengths in microbial sciences, respiratory sciences, nephrology and immunology. The quality of the respiratory research performed in Leicester has been recognised by the award of a National Institute of National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Respiratory Biomedical Research Unit.


The department plays a central role in the teaching of BSc Medical Microbiology and BSc Biological Sciences (Microbiology) degrees.

The department provides a stimulating and exciting environment in which to study for a postgraduate degree. Postgraduate studies include PhD by research and one year taught postgraduate degrees - MSc Infection and Immunity and MSc Chronic Disease and Immunity both of which include a substantial research project.
















































































































































































































































































































































Share this page:

Contact Details

Department of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation,
Maurice Shock Medical Sciences Building,
University Road,
Leicester, LE1 9HN, UK

General enquiries to:
Alison Brown

T:+44 (0)116 252 2951
F:+44 (0)116 252 5035

Postgraduate enquiries to: 
Susan Kapadia (PhD)

Anna Boyce (MSc)

Erasmus and Study Abroad Co-ordinator:

Professor Peter Andrew

T: +44 (0)116 252 2951

Other contact details can be found in People

Head of Department: Professor Andy Wardlaw

Deputy Head of Department: Dr Shaun Heaphy

Respiratory Team Lead: Professor David Cousins

Microbial Sciences Team Lead: TBC

Renal team Lead: Dr Jon Barratt

as silver logo


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Maurice Shock Medical Sciences Building.