A list of people with particular roles within the Department of Engineering.

Department Management

Head of Department
Professor Jonathon Chambers
Deputy Head of Department
Professor Jingzhe Pan
Head of Aerospace & Computational Engineering Research Group Professor Stephen Garrett
Head of Mechanics of Materials Research Group
Professor Jingzhe Pan
Operations Manager
Mrs Karen Smith
Business Administration Manager
Mrs Alison Lambert
Business Administration Manager
Mrs Melissa Goodwin
Technical Services Manager Mr Chris Marlow


Director of Research and Chair of Research Committee                 
Professor Stephen Garrett
Postgraduate Tutor (Research Postgraduates)
Dr Andrew McMullan
Ethics Officer Dr Fernando Schlindwein
Director of IMPaCT Dr Simon Gill
Scientific Director of IMPaCT Professor Hong Dong
Director of TWI Materials Innovation Centre (MatIC) Dr Shiladitya Paul
Scientific Director of TWI Materials Innovation Centre (MatIC) Professor Hong Dong
Lead of Energy Research Accelerator (ERA) Dr Audrius Bagdanavicius
Biomedical Engineering Theme Lead Dr Fernando Schlindwein
Energy Theme Lead Dr Audrius Bagdanavicius
Transport Theme Lead Dr Alistair McEwan


Director of Enterprise Professor Tanya Vladimirova
Director of ASDEC Professor Stephen Garrett
Academic Lead for MIRA Partnership Dr Alistair McEwan

Teaching (General)

Chair of Exam Boards (Undergraduate & Postgraduate)
Departmental Exams Officer & Secretary of Exam Boards
Exam Preparations Officer
Professor Jonathon Chambers
Mr Andrew Norman
Mr Michael Black
Director of Learning and Teaching & Chair of Learning and Teaching Committee
Dr Hugo Williams
Plagiarism Officer
Deputy Plagiarism Officer
Dr Nik Chalashkanov
Mr Andrew Norman
International Student Affairs
Dr Rafael Morales
AccessAbility Tutors Mr Andrew Norman
Mrs Alison Lambert
Academic Lead for the Dalian Partnership Professor Jingzhe Pan
Academic Lead for the CTGU Partnership
Dr Alkiviadis Tsamis

Teaching (Undergraduate)

First Year Course Director & Chair of Board of Studies
Mr Andrew Norman
Second Year Course Director & Chair of Board of Studies
Dr Dave Weston
Third Year Course Director & Chair of Board of Studies
Dr Fernando Schlindwein
Fourth Year Course Director & Chair of Board of Studies
Dr Fernando Schlindwein
Senior Tutor & Chair of Undergraduate Mitigating Circumstances Panel
Assistant Senior Tutor
Secretary to Mitigating Circumstances Panels (UG and MSc)
Mr Andrew Norman
Professor Tanya Vladimirova
Ms Charlotte Watts
Academic Secretary (Undergraduate) Dr Tim Pearce
Study Abroad Tutor
Foundation Year Link Tutor Mr Andy Truman

Programme Directors:
Aerospace Engineering
Communications and Electronic Engineering
Electrical and Electronic Engineering
General Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Software and Electronic Engineering

Dr Rafael Morales
Prof Mike Warrington
Dr Steve Dodd
Dr Rob Thornton

Dr Andrew McMullan
Dr Alistair McEwan

Teaching (MSc)

MSc Course Director & Chair of MSc Board of Studies Dr Andrea Lecchini Visintini
Chair of MSc Exam Panel Professor Matt Turner
Secretary of MSc Exam Panel & Board of Studies Dr Rafael Morales
MSc Senior Tutor and Chair of MSc Mitigating Circumstances Panel Dr Dave Siddle
Academic Secretary (MSc) Dr Andrea Lecchini Visintini
MSc Project Coordinator Dr Rafael Morales
Programme Director for MSc in Advanced Control and Dynamics Dr Andrea Lecchini Visintini
Programme Director for MSc in Embedded Systems and Control Engineering Dr Andrea Lecchini Visintini
Programme Director for MSc in Advanced Electrical and Electronic Engineering Dr Paul Lefley
Programme Director for MSc in Advanced Mechanical Engineering Dr Csaba Sinka
Programme Director for MSc in Advanced Materials Engineering Professor Hong Dong
Programme Director for MSc in Advanced Engineering Dr Csaba Sinka
Programme Director for MSc in Information and Communications Engineering Dr Dave Siddle
Programme Director for MSc in Reliable Embedded Systems Dr Alistair McEwan
Programme Director for "with Management" MSc degrees Dr Mukund JANARDHANAN

Student Recruitment and External Relations

Admissions Tutor
Deputy Admissions Tutor

Mr Ian Jarvis
Dr Audrius Bagdanavicius

Director of Industrial Liaisons and Careers
Undergraduate Industrial Placement Tutor
MSc Industrial Placement Tutor

Dr Alistair McEwan
Dr Bing Ji
Dr Dave Siddle
Formula Student Coordinator Dr Paul Lefley
Outreach Officer Mr Andy Truman
Publicity Officer Dr Mateusz Bocian
Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Liaison
Institution of Measurement and Control (InstMC) Liaison
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) Liaison
Dr Paul Lefley
Professor Matt Turner
Dr Csaba Sinka

Safety, Welfare and Equal Opportunities

Athena SWAN Coordinator Dr Fernando Schlindwein
Chair of Safety Committee
Safety Officer
Radiation Protection Officer
Dr Dave Weston
Mr Paul Williams
Mr Graham Clark
First Aiders

Mr Bilal Haveliwala
Mr Andrew Norman
Mr Keith Stanley
Dr Hugo Williams

Buildings Officer Mr Chris Marlow
Trade Union Representatives
Mr Luigi Alessandro (UNITE)
Mr Bilal Haveliwala (UNITE)
Mr Andrew Norman (UCU)
Dr Nikola Chalashkanov (UCU)

Share this page:

Learning Resources

The Library is not just a collection of books - there are eBooks, help with study skills and careers, working areas (including computer rooms), meeting rooms, a cafe, a bookshop, and much more.

Go to the Library.

Blackboard is the university's Virtual Learning Environment, for staff and students.

Go to Blackboard.

Women in STEM

Athena SWAN

Want to return to your career in Science, Engineering or Technology after a career break? The Daphne Jackson Trust can help.