Lunchtime Lectures

The Lunchtime Lecture series gives Researchers across the University of Leicester the opportunity to present their research to a public audience at the Leicester Adult Education College.

Untitled.png

Lunchtime Lecture Series 2020-2021

Due to recent events, our Lunchtime Lecture series will start back up again in September with many titles still to be confirmed.

If you are a University of Leicester researcher and would like to speak, get in touch.

Date Time Speaker Department Title
Friday, October 16, 2020 12:30-1.00 Megan Yates History Poverty, Work and Punishment. Vagrancy in the Midlands. 1834-1896.
Friday, October 23, 2020 12:30-1.00 Tiffany Bale Media & Communication Women working in the film and television industry, particularly women working in the costume department
Friday, October 30, 2020 12:30-1.00 Elpida Vounzoulaki Health Sciences To Be Confirmed
Friday, November 6, 2020 12:30-1.00 Fran Quattri Health Sciences To Be Confirmed
Friday, November 13, 2020 12:30-1.00 Fran Quattri Health Sciences To Be Confirmed
Friday, November 20, 2020 12:30-1.00 Jennifer Beamer Archaeology & Ancient History Reconnecting Archaeological Textiles: Integrating Visual Media
Friday, November 27, 2020 12:30-1.00
Friday, December 4, 2020 12:30-1.00 Megan Yates History Poverty, Work and Punishment. Vagrancy in the Midlands. 1834-1896.
Friday, December 11, 2020 12:30-1.00
Friday, January 15, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, January 22, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, January 29, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, February 5, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, February 12, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, February 19, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, February 26, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, March 5, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, March 12, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, March 19, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, March 26, 2021 12.30pm-1.00pm Ellen Smith History With kisses on both your cheeks
Friday, April 9, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, April 16, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, April 23, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, April 30, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, May 7, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, May 14, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, May 21, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, May 28, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, June 4, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, June 11, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, June 18, 2021 12:30-1.00
Friday, June 25, 2021 12:30-1.00

Attending a Lecture

All of the Lunchtime Lectures are on Friday's and free and open to the public, with no need to book in advance. The lectures last approximately 20 minutes, starting at 12:30.

Lectures are held at the Leicester Adult Education College, on Friday lunchtimes during the College's academic term time.

Map from University campus to Adult Education College

Testimonials

Our sessions are always well received both from the speaker and the audience. Have a look at some of our wonderful feedback from all involved.

“I found the event useful to elicit some inspiring public views on my topic” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
“I think that it's an excellent opportunity for the University to engage with its local community. It brings 'gown to town' and produces shared understanding” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
"interesting and relevant" – Lunchtime Lecture Delegate
“It is not a bad challenge to have to emerge from academic specialism to explain yourself to a public audience..........” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
“The event was great, I really enjoyed getting the chance to share my research updates with the general public. They were very interactive, and had some interesting questions worth considering for the course of my project and the direction of the work.” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
“After my speech, there are over half an hour communication between me and audience” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
“Thank you very much for all the organisers of this event. This event was really great experience for me. I use to have fear to talk about my research. It helps me to gain confidence about my research, talk infront of people, and think about my research differently” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
“I had a lot of questions and good solid debate from a well informed audience. I really enjoyed it” – Lunchtime Lecture Speaker
The audience are always very friendly, engaged and well-informed, and ask really good questions - Lunchtime Lecture Speaker

Just to say I have done a few of these now and highly recommend them to colleagues! The audience are always very friendly, engaged and well-informed, and ask really good questions - Lunchtime Lecture Speaker

 

Delivering a Lecture

If you are interested in delivering a lecture, please email Kelly McCormack on km423@leicester.ac.uk

Each lecture should be approximately 20 minutes in length, aimed at an audience of the general public (i.e. with no specific academic background) and address both the aims and the rationale of your specific research topic.

Research Students may find training on delivering talks to non-specialist audiences useful and can find booking information for these workshops here: Research Student Training Programme.

Share this page:

Filed under: