Staff in the Department of Criminology

Academic Staff

Professor Neil Chakraborti Head of Department, Professor of Criminology 5706
Dr Tammy Ayres Lecturer in Criminology 5700
Dr Rebecca Barnes Lecturer in Criminology 5707

Dr Mark Connor

Tracey Dodman

Teaching Fellow in Criminology

Associate Professor in Criminology



Ben Ellis Lecturer in Criminology 5778
Anne Esposito Teaching Fellow in Security and Risk Management 5701
Dr Wendy Fitzgibbon Reader in Criminology 5768
Dr Gina Fox Lecturer in Criminology 5781
Dr Clare Gunby Lecturer in Criminology 3747
Dr Stevie-Jade Hardy Lecturer in Hate Studies 3784
Dr Matt Hopkins Associate Professor in Criminology 5714
Richard Ilett Teaching Fellow in Security and Risk Management 5781
Nick Janicki Teaching Fellow in Security and Risk Management 5781

Dr Sam King

Lecturer in Criminology 5729
Dr Isla Masson Lecturer in Criminology 5777
Dr Lucy Neville Lecturer in Criminology 3547
Dr Andrew Newton Associate Professor in Criminology 5765
Professor Teela Sanders Professor of Criminology 5705
Dr Lisa Smith Associate Professor in Criminology 5708
Dr Matt Tonkin Lecturer in Criminology 3750
Dr Claire Vanneck Teaching Fellow in Security and Risk Management 3680

Emeritus Professor

NameResponsibility TelephoneEmail
Prof. Adrian Beck Emeritus Professor 07968 0272703

Research Staff

Rosie Campbell Research Associate 5705

Teaching Assistants

Amy Clarke Graduate Teaching Assistant 5784
Cristina D'Aniello Graduate Teaching Assistant 4568
Keith Floyd Graduate Teaching Assistant 5983
Alex Murphy Graduate Teaching Assistant 5894
Cristina Verousi Graduate Research Assistant 5897

Professional Services Staff

Andy Sarratt Operations Manager 1621
Wilma Coleman Administration Assistant 2458
Luke Gamble Programme Administrator 5712
Helena Gorse Programme Administrator 2489
Satty Hullait Programme Administrator 5752
Isobel McEwen Business Administration Manager 5755
Laura Nevay School Administrator 5792

Distance Learning

For all Distance Learning enquiries please contact the Distance Learning Hub:

Social Science Distance Learning Team
Charles Wilson Building (5th Floor Parkside)
University of Leicester, University Road
Leicester, LE1 7RH

Tel: +44(0)116 252 3978/5164/5780

Share this page:

Contact Details

The Friars
154 Upper New Walk

T: +44 (0)116 252 3946/2458
F: +44 (0)116 252 5788


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for 152-154 Upper New Walk.



read the blog

30th Anniversary Brochure

Search the Criminology site
Voices from the sex industry event

Join us for an evening of film screenings, a panel discussion and wine reception as part of the ‘Beyond the Gaze’ project.

This event will be taking place on the 21st March 2018 from 17:00. Please click below to register:-

Criminology Graduate Teaching Assistant Position

For details on this new role please click on the below link.

For more information or if you have any queries please contact us at

Closing date for this post is 9th April 2018