Sustainable Synthesis & Catalysis Group

Sustainable Synthesis and Catalysis

Research focuses on internationally recognised research strengths in Leicester, specifically C-H activation, fluorine chemistry and designer ligands and metal complexes.

Within the “sustainable chemistry” theme, our approach involves developing or applying new synthetic methodologies to “added-value” products.

Areas currently under investigation include asymmetric fluorination, catalytic applications of C-H activation, cycloisomerisation reactions, electrophilic fluorination, polymerisation catalysis with 3d metals and responsive dual-mode contrast agents.

Research Interests

Group Members


Research Interests
Prof Eric Hope

Fluorine Chemistry

Prof Dai Davies

C-H Activation

Dr Gregory A Solan

C-H Activation

Polymerisation Catalysis
Dr Alison M Stuart

Asymmetric Catalysis

Fluorine Chemistry

For postgraduate opportunities, please click here.

For postdoctoral opportunities, please click here.

Share this page:

Contact Details

Department of Chemistry
University of Leicester
Leicester, LE1 7RH, UK


Tel: [+44] (0)116 252 2100

Fax: [+44] (0)116 252 3789

RSS Logo Subscribe to our news

Facebook logo Like us on Facebook

Twitter @leicesterchemistry Follow us on Twitter

Just click on the logos to keep up to date with our activities!

Athena Swan

AS Silver


DisabledGo logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the George Porter Building.