Economics at Leicester has a long history with the first BSc Economics graduate being awarded their degree in 1932.


We have particular research strengths in three areas: game and decision theory, applied microeconomics and microeconometrics, and monetary policy and banking. We have received research grants and awards from a wide range of bodies including: ESRC Future Research Leaders Award, Welcome Trust, British Academy, Inter-American Development Bank, Ministry of Justice, ESRC-DFID, Medical Research Council Early Career Fellowship, ESRC, French National Research Agency (ARN), and Nuffield Foundation. In addition we work with a large number of external organisations reflecting our research strengths, these include:

  • Advisor to The Bank of Greece
  • Committee Member of the UN Project LINK
  • Consultant to the Brazilian Health Ministry
  • Consultant to the Central Bank of Bangladesh
  • Consultant to the European Central Bank
  • Consultant to the European Commission
  • Consultant to the Inter-American Development Bank
  • Research Partner with Leicestershire Police
  • Council Member of the Game Theory Society
  • Department of Work and Pensions
  • External Member of the Finnish Research Panel
  • Former Governor of the Bank of Cyprus
  • HMRC Tax Gap Roundtable Panel Member
  • Member of the ESRC Peer Review College
  • Member of the European Research Council Panel of Research Experts
  • Member of the Programme Committee for the Royal Economic Society Conference
  • Ministry of Public Security (Brazil)
  • Panel Member of the ERC Mega-grants Committee
  • Partner with Statistics Canada
  • The Welsh Assembly

Find out more about:

  • Publications and books
  • ESRC/DFID Project and ESRC/ORA Project - Read about the projects that our division members are currently working on and collaborating on with researchers from around the globe
  • HaPPEN - Health and public policy evaluation network
  • Discussion papers - our working paper series
  • Annual PhD Conference - Our annual conference gives PhD students from across the globe a chance to present their research and gain an insight about the work being carried out by fellow students
  • LExEcon - Our laboratory for controlled experimentation in economic and social research.

Division Head

Professor Stephen Hall

Division Members

Dr Svetlana Andrianova

Dr R. Emre Aytimur

Professor Badi Baltagi

Dr Subir Bose

Dr Aristotelis Boukouras

Dr Cheng Chou

Professor Sergio Currarini

Dr Giuseppe De Feo

Professor Panicos Demetriades

Dr Piotr Denderski

Professor Sanjit Dhami

Dr Martin Foureaux Koppensteiner

Professor Clive Fraser

Dr Deborah Gefang

Dr Martin Hoskins

Dr Sara Lemos

Dr Francisco Martinez Mora

Dr Emi Mise

Professor Suresh Mutuswami

Dr Asako Ohinata

Dr Tania Oliveira

Dr Barbara Roberts

Dr James Rockey

Dr Jacob Seifert

Dr Richard Suen

Dr Arkadiusz Szydlowski

Dr Dimitris Varvarigos

Dr Piercarlo Zanchettin

Share this page: