Accounting and Finance

The School of Business' Accounting and Finance divisions are strongly committed to high-quality research and teaching.

The divisions are composed of a diverse group of scholars with international reputations in important areas of accounting and finance such as corporate finance, financial markets, public finance, financial risk management, financial accounting, public sector accounting, capital markets research in accounting and other areas.

The programmes in accounting and finance, both at undergraduate and postgraduate level strive for providing a solid education in accounting and finance essential for the success of our students in the ever more competitive job market.


Research in these divisions range from theoretical to empirical and quantitative to qualitative with a strong emphasis on cross-disciplinarity. Our research combines mathematics and physics with finance (in the Quantum Decision Theory research centre, and Institute of Finance), financial theory with philosophy and accounting with sociology and organisational theory. This covers risk management research (extreme event analysis, VaR evaluation of models in the context of Basel arrangements, VaR and market capitalisation, economic value of large losses in portfolio selection); banking performance analysis; as well media and the financial crisis, elections and volatility, political economy and the financial crisis, and behavioural finance.

We also have researchers who cover the informational value of insider trading; social studies of finance and accounting, which includes the formation of electronic markets, the social roots of market liquidity; social network analysis in finance and market practices of valuation. A further strand is consumer finance research which covers financial advice and management accounting systems, trust and the SME/Bank relationship, regulation and the bank-client relationship as well as consumers’ financial calculations and financial protection policy.

Accounting Division Head

Dr Hendrik Vollmer

Accounting Division Members

Dr Amanze Ejiogu

Dr Tariq Elrazaz

Lynne Howey

Dr Caroline Linhares

Kishor Lodhia

Dr Ulrike Marx

Dr Mahmoud Marzouk

Sarah Mohamed

Jim O'Hare

Anthony O'Tierney

Dr Nikiforos Panourgias

Dr Silvia Pazzi

Linda Ralphs

Dr Frederica Salvatori

Dr Camelia Vasilescu

Dr Kenneth Weir

Finance Division Head

Dr Don Egginton

Division Members

Dr Fabrizio Adriani

Professor Marcel Ausloos

Mark Burridge

Dr Godfrey Charles-Cadogan

Dr Carlos Diaz Vela

Professor Peter Jackson

Polina Khrennikova

Professor Dan Ladley

Dr Zhiyong Li

Catarina Moreira

Dr Hiro Nakata

Linh Nguyen

Dr Ayman Omar

Dr Panayiotis Savvas

Dr Sandro Sozzo

Dr Ekaterina Svetlova

Andy Wynne

Share this page: