International Workshop on ‘Risk, Crisis, Disaster and Development Management Education: Future Leader Programme’

Posted by pm357 at Jan 16, 2018 04:12 PM |
Funded by Kansai University’s ‘Improvement in Research & Education Fund’, Dr Nibedita Ray-Bennett from the School of Business, in collaboration with Dr Hideyuki Shiroshita from Kansai University organised a one-day international research workshop on Risk, Crisis, Disaster and Development Management: Future Leader Programme. The Workshop was held on 10 January 2018 at the University of Leicester.

The workshop was attended by key stakeholders, namely the Foreign & Commonwealth Office; Department for International Trade; students/practitioners from the University College London, Northumbria and Leicester Universities; Leicester’s Centre for Landscape and Climate Research, Department of Geography, National Centre for Earth Observation and Research & Enterprise Support office; Coventry University; and International Center for Tropical Agriculture Vietnam.

The workshop was opened by Professor Norio Okada, an Emeritus Professor of Kyoto University and a Senior Fellow at IASS Potsdam in Germany. It was concluded by Professor Heiko Balzter, the Director of the Centre for Landscape and Climate Research at the University of Leicester.

The purpose of the Workshop was to share preliminary findings of the research project gathered from desk-based literature review; validate indicators for a ‘quality’ programme on risk, crisis, disaster and development management, developed from the UN’s ‘Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015-2030’ and the ‘Sustainable Development Goals 2015-2030’; and listen to students/practitioners, funders and researchers’ opinions in order to identify a future leader programme that can promote the interlinkages of global conventions for sustainable development.

Another international research workshop will be held on 30 March 2018 at Kansai University in Osaka, Japan.

For more information, please contact:

Dr Nibedita S Ray-Bennett FHEA

Lecturer in Risk Management

School of Business
University of Leicester

M:+44(0)7745 000 702

Image in attendance:

Standing (from left): Dr Hideyuki Shiroshita, Clare Hudson, Dr Jörg Kaduk, Dr Sarah Johnson, Dr Sophie Hebden, Phil Ralls, Justine Uyimleshi, Prof Heiko Balzter, Emmanuel Agbo, Peter McGowran, Blain Rutherford, Caro Nicol, Farouq Al Dendashi, Dr Lopamudra Saxena, Tamiko Okada, Prof Toshio Takatorige.

Seated (from let): Prof Norio Okada, Prof Peter Jackson, Dr Pablo Imbach, Jane Stephen, Anya Novak and Dr Nibedita Ray-Bennett.