I would like to thank the many people who have participated in this research and have supported and enabled me in various ways throughout the TOUCANS project:

  • Prof. Patrick McAndrew – my SCORE mentor at the Open University who helped me shape the research and gave me invaluable input throughout the project.
  • Jonathan Darby – coordinator of the SCORE programme at the Open University who was also a sounding board for me during the project.
  • Dr Alejandro Armellini at the Beyond Distance Research Alliance, University of Leicester – my reality checker, who cast a fresh eye over my raw data and helped me summarise my findings.
  • Dr Angela Murphy (University of Southern Queensland), who co-created the survey instrument with me. Angela will also be using the data from the survey for a broader evaluation of the OERu.
  • Colleagues at the University of Leicester who trialled early versions of the survey – Prof. David Hawkridge, Dr Palitha Edirisingha, Dr Paul Rudman, Dr Ming Nie and Brenda Padilla. Also Ali Ewing from University of Northampton.
  • Dr Vivien Rolfe, Fred Garnet, Prof. Andy Lane, Prof. Graham Gibbs, Terese Bird and Stephen Walker, who responded to the survey (and agreed to be attributed for their contributions).
  • Wayne Mackintosh of the OER Foundation, who facilitated communication between the OERu community and me around the research.
  • The SCORE support team – Janet Dyson, Tracey Everard, Tracey De Beer and Tim Seal, who kept the SCORE fellows on track.
  • The other SCORE fellows, who gave me inspiration and feedback along the way.

People who participated in the OERu interviews:

  • Prof. Terry Anderson (Professor and Canada Research Chair in Distance Education, Athabasca University, Canada)
  • Dr Elizabeth Archer (Specialist: Institutional Research at the University of South Africa)
  • Kevin Bell (Innovation Team: Leader of Learning and Development, Southern New Hampshire University, USA)
  • David Bull (Director: University Preparatory Programs, University of Southern Queensland, Australia)
  • Irwin DeVries (Director, Instructional Design, Thompson Rivers University, Canada)
  • Vasi Doncheva (Flexible Learning Manager, Northtec Polytechnic, New Zealand)
  • Wayne Mackintosh (Director: International Centre for Open Education, Otago Polytechnic, New Zealand, and Founding Director of the OER Foundation)
  • Prof. Rory McGreal (Associate Vice-President, Athabasca University, Canada)
  • Prof. Joyce McKnight (Associate Professor, State University of New York/ Empire State College, USA. Speaking in her personal capacity as a scholar.)
  • Terry Neal (Flexible Learning Manager, Open Polytechnic, New Zealand)
  • Paul Stacey (Director, Curriculum Development, BC Campus, Canada)
  • Herbert Thomas (Electronic Learning Media Team Leader, Canterbury University, New Zealand)
  • Prof. Sandra Wills (Executive Director, Learning and Teaching, Wollongong University, Australia)

People who participated in the UK HEI interviews:

  • University of Leicester: Christine Fyfe (PVC), Dave Hall (Registrar), Prof. Grainne Conole (Director, BDRA)
  • Open University: Andrew Law (Dir, Open Media), Jonathan Darby (Dir, HE Shared Solutions)
  • University of Salford: Prof. Martin Hall (VC)
  • University of Edinburgh: Prof. Jeff Haywood (CIO)
  • University of Nottingham: Prof. Wyn Morgan (Dir, Teaching & Learning)
  • JISC (personal capacity): Amber Thomas and David Kernohan
  • University of Derby: Julie Stone (Head, University of Derby Online)

Institutions that participated in the survey:

  • Bournemouth University
  • Coventry University
  • De Montfort University
  • Institute of Education (London Knowledge Lab)
  • King’s College London
  • Leeds Metropolitan University
  • Loughborough University
  • Middlesex University
  • Newcastle University
  • Open University
  • Southampton Solent University
  • University of Bath
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Surrey
  • Plus eight others that requested anonymity*

* Where two or more people responded from a single institution and at least one respondent requested attribution for the institution, the institution is named in the above list.

Share this page:


Gabi Witthaus
SCORE Fellow

Tel: +44 (0)116 252 5745

OER university (OERu)

For latest info on the OERu, please see

Creative Commons

All material on this site is available under the following licence, except where otherwise stated:

CC 3.0 icon

TOUCANS Project Website by Gabi Witthaus is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at