The Collected Works of Norbert Elias

The Collected Works of Norbert EliasAside from containing many texts never before published in English, or never published at all, the Collected Works contains new editions which have been extensively amended, annotated and cross-referenced. Intending contributors to the conference are recommended to consult the new editions.

  1. Early Writings
  2. The Court Society
  3. On the Process of Civilisation
  4. The Established and the Outsiders (with John L. Scotson)
  5. What is Sociology?
  6. The Loneliness of the Dying and Humana Conditio
  7. Quest for Excitement: Sport and Leisure in the Civilising Process (with Eric Dunning)
  8. Involvement and Detachment
  9. An Essay on Time
  10. The Society of Individuals
  11. Studies on the Germans
  12. Mozart and Other Essays on Courtly Art
  13. The Symbol Theory
  14. Essays I: On the Sociology of Knowledge and the Sciences
  15. Essays II: On Civilising Processes, State Formation and National Identity
  16. Essays III: On Sociology and the Humanities
  17. Interviews and Autobiographical Reflections (Autumn, 2013)
  18. Supplements and Index to the Collected Works (Spring 2014)

For further information regarding the Collected Works of Norbert Elias, see the UCD Press website.

Share this page:

Further Information

For further information regarding The Collected Works of Norbert Elias, see the UCD Press website



The From the Past to the Present and towards Possible Futures: The Collected Works of Norbert Elias is sponsored by:

University of Leicester

Norbert Elias Foundation

The Sociological Review