Inspirational Women 2018

Following the University’s Inspirational Women Awards in 2015, CSSAH wished to recognise and celebrate its female trailblazers and role models.

To mark the centenary of the 1918 Suffrage Act, which granted the vote to married women over 30, colleagues in CSSAH were asked to nominate inspirational women who have made an outstanding contribution to their field or to University life.

We received over 100 nominations for 33 women in every Department and School in the College.

Dr Emma Parker (English) and Dr Kaitlyn Mendes (Sociology)
CSSAH EDI Champions

Inspirational Women A-F

Read about:

  • Dr Jo Appleby
  • Dr Maribel Canto-Lopez
  • Dr Eugenia Caracciolo Di Torella
  • Ruth Daly
  • Dr Helen Dexter
  • Dr Lucy Evans
  • Dr Zalfa Feghali
  • Dr Corinne Fowler

Inspirational Women G-K

Read about:

  • Miriam Gill
  • Jo Goacher
  • Dr Kate Gooch
  • Dr Stevie-Jade Hardy
  • Dr Felicity James
  • Professor Sarah Knight
  • Professor Sally Kyd
  • Yvonne Lee

Inspirational Women L-R

Read about:

  • Dr Pascale Lorber
  • Professor Suzanne MacLeod
  • Dr Jennifer Smith Maguire
  • Dr Catherine Morley
  • Holly Morton
  • Professor Henrietta O’Connor
  • Professor Zoe Radnor

Inspirational Women S-Z

Read about:

  • Dr Alice Samson
  • Dr Jacqueline Sanchez Taylor
  • Dr Sarah Scott
  • Dr Saeeda Shah
  • Professor Joanne Shattock
  • Dr Lisa Smith
  • Professor Jo Story
  • Dr Dawn Watkins
  • Kate Westlake
  • Professor Katja Ziegler

Share this page:

Contact Details

College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities

Kathy Baddiley-Davidson
(PA to Head of College, Henrietta O'Connor):
+44 (0)116 252 2679

Denise Challinor
(PA to Director of Operations, Ruth Daly):
+44 (0)116 252 3875

4th Floor
Attenborough Tower
University of Leicester
University Road

Find us on Twitter: @LeicesterCSSAH

Funded PhD Places - 2018