Athena Swan Awards

The College of Life Sciences comprises eight departments -

Three departments currently hold silver Athena SWAN awards:

  • Cardiovascular Sciences since April 2016
  • Health Sciences since April 2013
  • Infection, Immunity and Inflammation since April 2016

And three hold bronze awards:

  • Cancer Studies since 2013
  • Molecular and Cell Biology
  • Psychology since 2013

The University of Leicester was awarded the Athena SWAN bronze award in 2008 which was renewed in 2014.

Our achievements so far..

Participate and Influence

Our Gender Equality Strategy

Our College is committed to providing an excellent working environment for its staff and we are actively engaged in working towards Silver Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) awards in all of our Departments by 2018. The Athena SWAN Charter recognises advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all. The Charter was established in June 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. The Charter was expanded in May 2015 to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law, and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students.

Share this page:

Contact Details

College of Life Sciences
University of Leicester
Maurice Shock Building
University Road