Staff list

Add 0116 252 before the extension number to telephone from outside of the University.

Director and Core Group

Dr Alexander Korb


Associate Professor  in Modern European History

Dr Paul Moore Lecturer in Modern European History 2816
Dr Fransiska Louwagie

Lecturer in French Studies

School of Modern Languages

Professor Aubrey Newman

Honorary Associate Director

Emeritus Professor of History

Dr Svenja Bethke Lecturer in Modern European History 5138
Dr Elke Schwarz Lecturer in International Politics 2708
Dr Victoria Stewart Reader in Modern and Contemporary Literature 2634
Dr. Fenoglio, Luca Leverhulme early career fellowship
Dr Martin Stern MD (retired)                                       

Associate Members

Dr Rabah Aissaoui       

Senior Lecturer in French

School of Modern Languages          



Dr Larissa Allwork Honorary Associate Fellow
Dr Viv Golding

Emeritus Associate Professor

School of Museum Studies

Dr Jovan Byford

Senior Lecturer in Psychology

The Open University

Dr Janet Marstine

Academic Director

School of Museum Studies

Dr Simona Storchi

Deputy Head of the School of Arts

Lecturer in Italian

School of Modern Languages

Dr Mandi Jamalian Hamedani


Stanley Burton Centre

Advisory Board

Professor Donald Bloxham University of Edinburgh
Professor Christopher Browning UNC Chapel Hill
Professor Elizabeth Harvey University of Nottingham
Professor Dan Stone Royal Holloway, University of London
Professor Chris Szejnmann Loughborough University
Dr Anton Weiss-Wendt HL Senteret Oslo

Honorary Associate Members

  • Ruth David
  • Dr Olaf Jensen
  • Dr Irina Marin
  • Dr Caroline Sharples
  • PhD Students

    Josh Cohen
    Namak Khoshnaw
    Nadine Tauchner
    Anna Scanlon (graduated 2017)
    Christina Winkler (graduated 2016)
    Stefanie Rauch (graduated 2015)
    Thomas Mckay (graduated 2012) 

    Student Volunteers Supervisor

    Name                             Email
    Frances Oldfield
    Josh Malam

    HET Officer

    James Milton       

    Research Assistant

    Nadine Tauchner                                  


    Share this page:

    Contact Details

    The Stanley Burton Centre
    School of History
    University of Leicester
    University Road
    Leicester LE1 7RH

    T: (44+)116 252 2802


    Media please contact the Press Office

    News in the Centre

    Just published: M. Braganca and F. Louwagie (eds.), Ego-histories of France and the Second World War: Writing Vichy, Palgrave

    Dr Fransiska Louwagie and Dr Caroline Sharples will present the results of 'Across the Seasons: Memory Matters today', a drama and research project conducted in collaboration with CCM Theatre and funded by the Toni Schiff Memorial Fund, at the AHRC-Network Conference 'Culture and its Uses as Testimony' (University of Birmingham, 11-12 April 2018) 

    Dr Luca Fenoglio will give a public presentation of his book at the Italian Cultural Institute New York and a lecture based on his PhD at Columbia University.

    Dr Martin Stern, has been honoured for his tireless work in the field of Holocaust education with an MBE.

    Hannah Lewis will give a survivor talk in the course of Holocaust Awareness Week, on the 8th of February, 5.30-7pm, Bennett Lower Ground Floor Lecture Theatre 2

    Richard Evans of the Archaeology and Ancient History department will present a research paper with the title "Anything But Genocide: The Inherent Problems of Genocide Scholarship within the Ancient World". 21 February 2018, 4:00pm (ATT206)

    Josh Cohen (University of Leicester) will give a paper on his on-going PhD research with the title "Never forget? The Holocaust and left-wing anti-fascism in Britain, 1945-51". 7 March 2018, 5:00pm (ATT206)

    Dr Rachel Century, formerly of Royal Holloway and now of the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust, will give a talk on her newly-published book, "Female Administrators of the Third Reich". 21 March 2018, 4:00pm (ATT206)

    Join Our Mailing List

    Wish to stay up to date with our events? Email your email address to Paul Moore.