Professor G Don Jones

Professor of Cancer Radiation ResearchProfessor Jones

Deputy Director & Director of Learning and Teaching, Leicester Cancer Research Centre

Lead, Radiobiology and DNA Damage Group

Fellow of the Higher Education Academy

Contact Details

Office: Room 1.26A, Robert Kilpatrick Clinical Sciences Building, University of Leicester, Leicester Royal Infirmary, Leicester LE2 7LX

Tel: +44 (0)116 223 1841



The interests of my research team (the Radiobiology & DNA Damage Group) may be summarised as: ‘Mechanisms, Measurement, Enhancement and Consequences of Radiogenic, Oxidative and Drug-Induced Damage to DNA’.

Radiotherapy and chemotherapy used either singly or in combination, are two of the principal modalities for the treatment of cancer. For radiation and many chemotherapeutic drugs, genomic DNA is the primary cellular target for the biological effects of these agents; indeed it is the DNA damage induced which is thought to be responsible for killing the of the cancer cells by these agents.

To better understand, judge and improve treatment efficacy, the purpose of our research is to explore mechanisms to enhance these damaging interactions and to develop methods and biomarkers for the accurate measurement of DNA damage in vitro and in vivo; Importantly, we consider that assessing a biologically significant end-point (DNA damage formation and repair), which takes into account many of the governing chemical, molecular and genetic factors, offers the best chance of assessing, predicting and enhancing a patient's response to treatment. Emphasis is placed on studying clinically relevant doses (avoiding the uncertainty of extrapolation from higher doses) and on translational research themes with anticipated patient benefit.


You can view my publications on PubMed Publication Listing.

Current Academic Distinctions & Awards

  • Vice-President-Elect, Vice-President, President & Past-President, US Radiation Research Society (2018-2019, 2019-2020, 2020-2021 & 2021-2022)
  • Council Member, International Association for Radiation - serving consecutive terms of office (2011-2015 & 2015-2019)
  • Network Lead, NCRI Clinical & Translational Radiotherapy Research Working Group (CTRad) Biomarker Network (2013 to date)
  • Honorary Member, awarded by the Royal College of Radiologists for ‘Notable contributions made to Clinical Oncology in the United Kingdom’ (2012 to date)
  • Committee Member, Secretary Treasurer & Trustee, LH Gray Memorial Trust (2008 to date)
  • Editorial Board Member, the journal 'Clinical Oncology' (2016 to date) and Guest Editor of the Special Editions ‘Advances in Clinical Radiobiology’ Part 3 (2019)


  • BSc (Hons), Chemistry with Biochemistry, University of Leicester (1982)
  • MSc (Carbohydrate Chemistry - by research), University of Birmingham (1984)
  • PhD (Radiation Chemistry), University of Leicester (1987)
  • Postdoctoral Research Scientist, MRC Radiobiology Unit, Chilton, Didcot, Oxon (1987‐1991)
  • Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Division of Radiation Biology, Department of Radiology, University of California San Diego, La Jolla, California USA (1991-1994)
  • Visiting Research Scientist, Radiobiology Program, Cross Cancer Institute, Edmonton, Alberta Canada (1994-1995)
  • Centre Research Fellow, Centre for Mechanisms of Human Toxicity & Honorary Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, University of Leicester (1995-2000)
  • Lecturer, Department of Oncology, University of Leicester (2000-2002)
  • Senior Lecturer, Department of Oncology, University of Leicester (2002-2007)
  • Reader in Radiation Research, Department of Cancer Studies, University of Leicester (2007-2016)
  • Professor of Cancer Radiation Research, Leicester Cancer Research Centre, University of Leicester (2016-to date)

Current Professional Activity

  • Deputy Director & Director of Teaching and Learning, Leicester Cancer Research Centre, University of Leicester (2010 to date)
  • MSc Course Convenor, Molecular Pathology & Therapeutics of Cancer (MPTC) MSc, Leicester Cancer Research Centre, University of Leicester (2014 to date)
  • Module Co-Lead, Biology of Cancer Special Study Module (BoC/SSM) (MB ChB Phase 1), Leicester Medical School, University of Leicester (2013 to date)
  • Radiation Research Lead, Leicester Cancer Research Centre & Chair, Radiation Research at Leicester Group (RR@Le), University of Leicester (2014 to date)

Previous Academic Distinctions 

  • Vice-President, President & Past-President, European Radiation Research Society (2011-2012, 2013-2014 & 2015-2016)
  • Vice-President, President & Past President, Association for Radiation Research (2006-2008, 2008-2010 & 2010-2012)
  • Committee Member, NCRI Clinical & Translational Radiotherapy Research Working Group (CTRad), (Basic Science - Workstream 1), serving 3 successive terms (2009-2011, 2012-2014, 2015-2017)
  • Finance Committee Lead & Nominations Committee Member, International Association for Radiation Research (2015)
  • Examiner, Royal College of Radiologists, Faculty of Clinical Oncology, for the First Examination of the Fellowship in Clinical Oncology  (2005-2011)
  • Treasurer & Membership Secretary, Association for Radiation Research (2005-2010)
  • Editorial Board Member, the journal 'Mutagenesis' (2006 to 2016)
  • Editorial Board Member, the journal 'Clinical Oncology' (2006-2012) and twice Guest Editor of the Special Editions ‘Advances in Clinical Radiobiology’ Parts 1 (2013) and 2 (2014)

Share this page:


SEND Study Success

Congratulations to Chris Avery, Honorary Associate Professor and Consultant Maxillofacial Surgeon, who with collaborating colleagues published the findings of the significant SEND study, a multi-centre randomised trial using two different surgical protocols for  mouth cancer treatment.  A nationwide first for this type of trial, using real-world data.  The paper, published in the British Journal of Cancer, is available by clicking this link: SEND Paper


Congratulations from the LCRC to Bethan Rogoyski and Aleksandra Bzura.

Bethan won best oral presentation at the AMS Midlands Academy of Medical Sciences Festival held on 27th March 2019 for her presentation on "Redeployment: The potential of repurposed drugs in preventing mesothelioma".

Aleks won the University PGR poster fair competition on 18th March 2019 for her poster entitled "New hope for treating mesothelioma cancer using PARP inhibitors".

Also, a huge well done to Grandezza Aburido who was in the semi-finals of the PGR poster fair.


New: Wellcome Trust Institutional Strategic Support Fund



Centre Health and Wellbeing Group
Join up for a walk on the park Friday lunchtime - details here.

More information from Jenny McNair

Contact Details

Leicester Cancer Research Centre
Clinical Sciences Building
University of Leicester
Leicester Royal Infirmary
Leicester LE2 7LX

T: +44 (0) 116 252 3170

(Please note this email address should not be used for clinical referrals or patient correspondence)

Maps and Directions

Sat Nav users: 


AccessAble logo

The University of Leicester is committed to equal access to our facilities. DisabledGo has a detailed accessibility guide for the Robert Kilpatrick Clinical Sciences Building.