Student Awards 2016

The University of Leicester Student Awards took place Wednesday 8th June 2016 and the winners have been announced!

Student Awards 2016 - The Winners!

Congratulations to all of our winners, highly commended and shortlisted students!

The University of Leicester Student Awards 2016 took place Wednesday 08th June 2016 at the Athena celebrating all shortlisted students and student groups' fantastic achievements for the year.

Joined by students, sponsors, award leads and one of our very own, highly accomplished graduates, Winston To, we would like to thank everyone who attended and involved in the event for making it such a great evening.

You can share your photos using the hashtag #UOLStudentAwards

The winners were announced and please see the full list below:


Intern of the Year

Sponsored by Centrica

Winner: Lauren Bingley

Highly Commended: Emily Davison

Enterprising Student Award

Winners: Hawa Mansaray and Kash Chundoo

Leicester Award Student of the Year

Target Jobs

Sponsored by TARGETjobs

Winner: Navin Leanage

Leicester Award Gold Student of the YearERAC

Sponsored by Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Winner: Nicholas Swalwell

Frank May Volunteer AwardTeach First cropped

Sponsored by Teach First

Winner: Philip Grierson

Unitemp of the YearUnitemps

Sponsored by Unitemps

Winner: Juliette Rose Smith

Course Representative of the Year

Winner: Richard Mbasu

Student Ambassador of the Year

Winner: Osarenkhoe Uwuigbe

Highly Commended: Antonia Kike Famuyimwa

Environmental Achiever Award

Winner: Abdullahi Tijjani

Students' Union Student Employee of the Year

Winner: Lewis Eves

High Commended: Anna Bulder

Pomeranze Prize for Music

Winners: Luke Barnes, Stephanie Bond, Bhalraj Chima, Christopher Hiam, Rachel Freeman, Robert Lamb, Holly Mulvey, Ajoke Onojeghuo, Damilola Ogunshola, William Sanders, Ross Willett, Madeleine Welland

Outstanding Contribution to Postgraduate Life

Winner: Jane Ainsworth

Teaching Partnership Award

Winners: Jennifer Bergevin, Matteo Foschi, Philippa James, Nkemdilim Ofodile, Rachel Tate, Ewa Zelazna, Laura Rodes-Saldana

Union Council Awards

Campaigner of the Year

Winner: Mona Murad

New Officer of the Year

Winner: George Bascom

Part-time Officer of the Year

Winner: Ofure Ugiagbe

Highly Commended: Eden Richardson

Outstanding Contribution

Winner: Nicholas Frost

Student Group Awards

Academic Group

Winner: Museum Studies


Winner: Environmental Action


Winner: UNICEF


Winner: Burlesque

Common Interest

Winner: Atheist and Humanist Society


Winner: The Polish Society - the 9th National Polish Congress


Winner: Christian Union


Winner: Islamic Society

Green Impact

Winner: Hungry 4 Change


Winner: LUSH


Winner: Friends of MSF

National and Cultural

Winner: Erasmus and Exchange

New Group

Winner: Nordic society


Winner: Voices


Winner: Quidditch

Student Group

Winner: Autistic Spectrum

Share this page: