Professorial Inaugural Lectures

The President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Boyle is delighted to announce that we are resuming our Professorial Inaugural Lecture series in all of our Colleges. This will allow all of our new professors an opportunity to share their research with a broad audience, including members of the public, in the presence of family, invited friends and colleagues.

All these lectures are open to the public and free to attend. Each lecture is followed by a reception.

Forthcoming lectures

  • 18 October 2017: Professor Teela Sanders, Department of Criminology 'Social Justice for Sex Workers: Stigma, Violence and Bad Laws' and Professor Neil Chakraborti, Department of Criminology 'Beyond Empty Promises and Flawed Responses? Tackling the Harms of Hate' Please note that this lecture takes place at 12.00pm in the Henry Wellcome Building.
  • Tuesday 21 November 2017: Professor Zoe Radnor, School of Business
  • Tuesday 28 November 2017: Professor Sarah Gabbott, Department of Geology
  • Tuesday 12 December 2017: Professor Sarah Knight, School of English
  • Tuesday 16 January 2018: Professor Neil Christie, School of Archaeology and Ancient History
  • Tuesday 20 February 2018: Professor Gawen Jenkin, Department of Geology
  • Tuesday 27 February 2018: Professor Rose Griffiths, School of Education and Professor Wasyl Cajkler, School of Education
  • Tuesday 6 March 2018: Professor Suzanne MacLeod, School of Museum Studies
  • Tuesday 20 March 2018: Professor Hartmut Boesch, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Tuesday 8 May 2018: Professor Clare Madge, Department of Geography
  • Tuesday 15 May 2018: Professor Graham Wynn, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Tuesday 22 May 2018: Professor Effie Law, Department of Computer Science

Share this page:

Time and place

Please check the start time of any lecture you want to attend: some start at 5.30pm, others start at 6.00pm.

Please also check the location: some are in the Ken Edwards Building, others are in the Centre for Medicine.

Campus maps

Contact

If you have any queries about any of these events, please contact inaugural@le.ac.uk