Charity status

Information correct as of 1 January 2017

The University is an exempt charity within the meaning of Schedule 2 of the Charities Act 1993 and as such is a charity within the meaning of Paragraph 1 of Schedule 6 to the Finance Act 2010.

Legal name

The University of Leicester

Preferred name

University of Leicester

Correspondence address

University Road, Leicester LE1 7RH

Constitutional document

HMRC Charity Reference Number



Members of Council - with information on other charities of which individuals are also trustees*

(*currently being updated for 2016-2017)

For any queries please contact Mrs Vicky Harrison, Governance Office, or telephone 0116 223 1458

  • Mrs J Arthur - Trustee: Leicester Cathedral Charitable Trust;Leicestershire Historic Churches Trust
  • Professor P Boyle  
  • Mr G Dixon - Trustee: Leicester Theatre Trust; Malawi Foster Care
  • Ms M Duke
  • Mr M Hindle
  • Ms R Holland - Trustee: University of Leicester Students' Union
  • Mr I Johnson - Trustee: Forbes Charitable Foundation
  • Mr P Lawson - Trustee: Oakham School Foundation; The Elizabethan Trust; Peterborough Cathedral Development and Preservation Trust; Norfolk and Norwich Chamber Music
  • Dr D Luckett - Trustee: The Pilgrims School, Winchester; Sherborne Preparatory School
  • Dr S Macleod
  • Mr D Moore - Trustee: Milton Keynes University Hospital Foundation Trust
  • Mr A Morgan
  • Professor P O'Brien
  • Professor M Peel - Trustee: University of Nottingham Students' Union
  • Professor E Raven
  • Dr N Reed
  • Professor J Schwabe
  • Dr V Sharma - Trustee: The Caxton Foundation; Gingerbread
  • Ms C Thorogood - Trustee: Central College Nottingham
  • Dr B Towle
  • Mr L Trotman

Financial statements

Share this page: